Tell Me What You Want, I’ll Give You What You Need

Psalm 34:10–“But those who seek the Lord shall not lack any good thing.”

Spending time with God, reading His word, slows me down. It is possible to read through a few verses just to say I did that and then not remember anything I read. I have a hard enough time remembering it even when I take my time and focus.

I wake up in the morning and immediately start thinking of all the stuff I should do. Reading the Bible and praying are a couple of those things. I want God to direct my life, so when I’m reading and praying, I have to actively push all the tasks on my list out of my mind. Those tasks are crying for my attention, but I have to thumb my nose at them and say, “I’m doing this now. You can wait.”

What I read in the Bible seldom relates directly to what I plan to do in a day. At least that’s the way it seems in the beginning. I woke up today thinking about work and the leak in my roof and my daughter who is away from home. My Bible reading started, “I will bless the Lord at all times. His praise shall continually be in my mouth.” What has that got to do with work or my roof or my daughter or anything else I care about? A whole different train of thought.

I have to stop, slow down and focus on every single word, think about what it means and let it seep in, pushing my worries out of the way. By the time I have read through a passage that way about three times, I usually start to enjoy it. Then I don’t want to leave it to go take care of a bunch of problems. In this case, I was blessing the Lord like the verse said, really enjoying my time with Him, aware of how much He does for me, how much He loves me and cares for me and desires good for me even though I screw up all the time… and I didn’t want to leave. I found myself thanking God for a good job, the fact that I even have a roof and for a daughter who is in a really good place.

Although the Bible doesn’t always speak directly to my specific problems, it makes them seem smaller.  I think it helps me solve them in a better, wiser frame of mind. It puts responsibilities in perspective and helps me to see what is most important.

Spending time with God slows me down, but I think it makes me more efficient. At least it reminds me that my life is eternal and  not just an accumulation of tasks and then I die.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tell Me What You Want, I’ll Give You What You Need

  1. simplynin809 says:

    Lately, I’ve been finding myself in this place. I try to spend time with God but my mind gets crowded with the tasks that needs to get done. Each morning I say I will spend time with God but I find myself rushing out the door that I barely read the Word.

    And I agree, reading God’s word is not something we ought to rush through. God’s word is alive. We will hear his voice if we just be silent and listen. We are people of timelessness. We always want everything fast. God wants so much to bless us but sometimes in our busyness, we miss out on great blessings.

  2. benedictj says:

    It’s astruggle for most of us, so we have to spur each other on. Thanks for following.

Leave a Reply

